8.1 Shore to Fishing Vessel Communication System

Phase-II of the Shore to Fishing Vessel Communication System envisages the establishment of shore stations in 10 places viz. Shankarpur and Frasergunj in West Bengal; Paradeep and Chandipur in Orissa ; Worli and Mirkarwada in Maharashtra; Salegao in North Goa; Marine Hill-Port Blair in A & N Islands; Periya Veerampattinam in Pondicherry and Minicoy in Lakshadaweep. The two shore stations in Orissa were already handed over to the local authorities and four more will be handed over by end of 1998-99. In Maharashtra, A&N Islands and Lakshadweep the construction work is scheduled to be completed by June/July, 1999.